I’ve got a lovely bunch of coconuts!

Well just the one really.  Mum and me were out on Saturday having a nice long walk along the Thames path when I found an oversized tennis ball.  It was a bit odd as it had been stripped of all its furry covering but that’s not unusual with a ‘foundling’.  All in all it didn’t seem quite right, quite hard, no bounce and three suspicious holes at the top, not unlike a bowling ball.  Of course on closer inspection mum informed me it was in fact a coconut!  Not that I was much the wiser, I don’t actually know what a coconut is!  Anyway, I persisted and tried to carry it along for a bit but in the end I gave up and went back to my trusty tennis ball!

That was the start of the weekend really.  We went to the boat on Saturday afternoon and mum and me walked whilst dad cleaned Juneau.  It seems having a dog on board whilst spraying a large boat with water is not a good combo so it was best if I was ‘elsewhere’ 😕

All the spraying and cleaning was in aid of our first visitors of the season.  Dad’s aunts and uncle joined us for a cruise.  It was lovely to welcome visitors on board my boat and very welcome they were too.  I was as ever a hit.  I got lots of fuss and nice comments.  The only problem was that it was a bit cold and showery so we did need to be inside a bit more than usual.  Believe me by the time there are 6 people inside there’s not much room, even for a small dog like me 🙂  But it’s OK, not wishing to miss out on anything I managed to find a location or two to squirm my way into.  I did get banished to my spot under the table when required (it’s OK, don’t phone the RSPCA, under the table is one of my favourite places – it’s even better if there are some legs to get in amongst!)

Coldness aside we did have a lovely day out.  By the time we got home we were all shattered.  As my boat bed came home with me I had a little kip in it under the stairs (see I do like to be under things!)

Here’s some pictures of our guests

Mum with Lynn, Audrey, Jean & Mike

 

Me with dad & Lynn

Earlier in the week mum and I went to a local school to do a couple of Guide Dogs talks.  It was an all girls school and the young ladies were very nice, polite and asked some great questions.  The best thing about the visit was that one of the classes did a sponsored silence for Guide Dogs.  Their teacher said some did find it a bit of a challenge to complete but they were successful.  In total they raised over £200 for guide dogs so that was really great – Go Luckley-Oakfield girls – that’s what I say.  I tried to be at my cutest and their teacher said they may do something for Guide dogs in the future so I hope the fact they all got to tickle my ears will influence them in that direction.

So that’s a rundown of the week.  Oh except that unfortunately I have to report the sad loss of one of my tennis ball family.  Whilst walking on the tow path at Cliveden I forgot the role of gravity in life (again). I dropped the ball on a slope on the river bank and of course it fell in the Thames :(. The size of the drop, the fact it was in amongst lots of branches and trees and the presence of guests meant that mum wasn’t prepared to carry out a rescue along similar lines to last week!  I however, was mortified and it took A LOT of bribery to get me away from the location of the loss and back to the boat I can tell you.  Hey ho – I’m sure I’ll find another one soon – otherwise I’ll just have to start collecting coconuts!

Hope you had a good one reader

Love

Tex

Leave a comment